A Titanic Memorial

Today marks the 101st anniversary of the sinking of the RMS Titanic in which over 1,500 souls died. As most of you know I am a Titanic buff. Therefore I couldn’t let this day go by without posting anything. My very first post was about the RMS Titanic is you would be interested in reading that, it is here (it’s a bit stiff but I have taken care to correct errors and do some editing recently. One of these days I’m going to have to rewrite it altogether. It’s a disaster in itself). Other Map of Time Titanic-related posts can found here and here and here and here. In the meantime please find below photos of other great White Star liners from days gone by.


29 thoughts on “A Titanic Memorial

  1. That is awesome post to remember the tragedy! The Titanic has touched my heart! I fell in love with the memory of the tragedy after I saw the movie Titanic.

    Like

  2. I didn’t know that you were a Titanic buff. I am going to be in Raleigh, NC on Friday, to see the special exhibit on the Titanic: the Artifacts Exhibition that the North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences has until the end of the month. I’ll be sure to read your posts before I go, so I know what I’m looking at.

    Like

  3. I finally found a few moments to read the other links you mentioned … I’d love to know more about the controversy surrounding the California.
    Such a tragedy!
    One of your posts mentions the villified J Bruce Ismay … what do you think of his actions?

    Like

    • At the risk of drawing fire from both sides of the controversy, I may have to do a post on the Californian. 🙂

      Regarding my opinion of Ismay—As a person Ismay is not one of my favorite people in history (that is if certain stories are to be believed); but as a victim of the press, I feel sorry for Ismay. It doesn’t seem right that he was ridiculed just because he seen an available seat on a lifeboat and took it. True, it was terrible that many others had died, but for the papers to fly off the handle at Ismay for having gotten away with his life, well…

      Like

  4. Ah…your favorite topic returns! Did you get the reply email I sent you about the “Titanic House”? It’ll give you a good chuckle.
    New brainstorm: you should have one of those “donate” buttons via PayPal or whatever with the goal taking the trip tour the Titanic at the bottom of the sea…you know, what ol’ James “Moneybags” Cameron did.
    Afraid of submersibles? The donations can fund your trip to Las Vegas to see the exhibition! If you go, then I’ll meet you there! Supposedly they have the most artifacts and part of the hull that they dredged up.

    Ah, sorry…I’m having “Friday Brain.” I’m extra whimsical in these moments.

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

